Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Reminders

In the wake of loss there’s something comforting about flowers …. though I couldn’t say for sure what it is. It’s hard to look at a beautiful flower or floral arrangement and not feel something … appreciation for their beauty and acknowledgment of the miracle of life. And I think that’s what a floral gesture of sympathy is meant to do: help us remember that as long as we can feel something there’s hope, and where there’s hope, there’s life.

 

Thank you dear friend, for the gentle reminder and for helping me bear my grief.

4 responses

  1. What a lovely sentiment, and I am with you 100% in every moment, like that flower…pain, pleasure and every step in between. You are never alone and your grief, although temporary, is a reminder of just how much she meant to you. Feel it, be with it, let her come to you whenever you want. She is, eternally, part of you. I love you, my sweet sister!

    January 7, 2011 at 4:33 PM

    • Robert ~ I suspect there will be lots of ups and downs over the next few weeks & months as I adjust. I’ll have to go through a lot of “firsts” without her, but this too, shall pass. The relief of knowing that she’s not in pain anymore and in a better place is very comforting. I snipped a lock of her mane and I’ll keep it in my office. It still smells like her. I dread the time when her scent begins to fade. I’ll always miss her simple, unassuming, gentle manner and remember her as the “Pretty white pony” that visiting kids liked to ride. In spite of being the pistol that she was, she was so good with children … a natural babysitter.

      You’re right, just being with the pain is important and a part of the healing process. Thanks for thinking of me and for sharing your words of encouragement. I love you too!

      January 7, 2011 at 5:04 PM

  2. Cheryl, you are a special person, appreciating all life around you, whether human, animal or plant. Thanks for sharing your vision and emotions.

    January 8, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    • Thanks Wayne, that’s one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me. I’m glad to have you checking in on my blog from time to time. It’s friends like you who inspire and challenge me to keep growing.

      January 9, 2011 at 8:02 AM

Leave a Reply

