Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Weathered Wood

 

I just happened upon this barn at the right time of day. It was late afternoon and I was driving home after seven hours of shooting a herding clinic. I was exhausted, but I couldn’t help but notice the gorgeous light that was starting to glow all around me. You know you’re pretty hooked on photography when you’re dead-dog tired, but still can’t pass up an opportunity to pull over and take one (or ten) last shot(s). Hence, this picture. Warmed by the setting sun, the old weathered wood could not be ignored.

5 responses

  1. Marc Saegaert

    There’s something very striking about this photo. The way the barn is more a part of rather than an intrusion on the woods, and still, there’s that small infusion of blue through the window that brings it all to life. Very nice. I must admit, for those of us still trying to learn this art it would be nifty if you were able to post the shot details as ISO, which lens, shutter speed, etc. More work, I know… Again, very nice.

    November 22, 2010 at 6:19 AM

  2. Hi Marc! I used to post some details, but I kind of fell out of the habit. I’d be happy to start again … let’s hope I can remember to do that for more than a day or two! 😉

    Glad you like the photo and thanks for dropping by!

    ISO 400, f/5.6, 1/60, 87mm

    November 22, 2010 at 11:58 AM

  3. h

    Really like this one!!

    November 22, 2010 at 7:49 PM

  4. sister marie julie

    Hi, Marc, and Hi, photographer!
    So lovely. It seems to be rising gently out of the very earth which embraces it. I love the values of the barn wood exterior, and the way the broad side facing me is so mellow while the end is worn and dry. Wonder what it was once used for. Or is still used for. So much of life keeps its own story secret….
    Thank you for this beautiful capturing of a slice of life that we all might have missed.

    February 9, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    • My father once paneled the inside of a ski chalet with weathered barn boards. Perhaps that’s why I love barns so?

      I’m glad this photo stirred your senses. Thanks for visiting my blog!

      February 10, 2011 at 6:41 AM

Leave a Reply

