Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

The Helper

I couldn’t ask for a better helper. Hazer has been my barn companion since he was 3 months old. He wasn’t born with a calm, patient demeanor, but we worked on it … a little here, a little there …  until he finally  grew into the well behaved boy you see here. That said, impulse control isn’t easy for him and never will be. His prey drive is quite strong. Instead of laying quietly and watching me maneuver the horses in and out of their stalls he’d much rather be out bossing them around. But in this case he’s not allowed to “help.” Equine ankles are delicate, but a carefully placed kick can do a lot of harm.  So he waits where I’ve downed him. Watching. Worrying. Hoping I’ll give the signal so he can come out and take over. He takes his job so seriously. He’s a heck of a lot of dog at times, but he’s a working machine. You have to understand that he views the world around him through that filter. Persistent? Yes! Determined? You bet! But you couldn’t ask for a better hand around the farm.

 

We’re going herding today and he’ll get his fill of moving livestock around. That will  help take the edge off  …  today!

 

 

5 responses

  1. h

    I just wanna squish him!!! He’s a beauty! AND the beast as well! 😉

    October 19, 2010 at 6:48 AM

  2. So handsome! He definitely looks like he likes “helping” and having a job.

    October 19, 2010 at 8:20 AM

  3. cheryl

    Yep…..Brush Hog always comes to mind…..
    He is such a handsome boy though. I got to snuggle one of my rescue red babies this past weekend at the foster home. There is nothin cuter than a red cattle dog baby for sure!

    October 19, 2010 at 8:42 PM

  4. Thanks all! I do adore the reds, though I don’t know why. I used to be more fond of the blues, but I think you can see their expression more on the reds. Perhaps that’s it? I dunno. We have such a love/hate relationship … still! Well, not hate, but he does drive me nuts several times a day. That mouth … UG! And yes, he’ll never live down the Brush Hog episode. Butthead!

    October 20, 2010 at 8:19 AM

  5. Sounds like a great dog. And, I really like the top photo! Great composition, and a great subject.

    October 20, 2010 at 8:53 AM

Leave a Reply

