Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Confessions

I’m feeling a bit anxious and guilty that I’m not out shooting this morning. Last night was cold, windy and rainy. I honestly thought this morning was going to be a continuation of the same. Every time I try to second guess the weather I mess it up. So here I sit as the sun is breaking through the trees and I’m feeling miserable because I think I should be out there taking pictures. But it’s getting pretty chilly to be out there before the sun comes up. I’ve had a very hard time fighting the damp and cold. My fingers, knees and back are pretty achy. Earlier this week I was out shooting at the break of dawn and I could hardly get my fingers to operate my camera and tripod, which makes me wonder what will happen when winter actually arrives? I try not to think about that very much because I’d sure like to try shooting in the winter!

I have a confession to make: I’ve become a light chaser. This is a curse and a blessing combined. I’m starting to feel a special kind of kindred with storm chasers only I’m constantly looking at the sky and planning my day around the “magic hour.” If I’m not out shooting when the light is great, I’m anxious and I struggle to focus on what I’m doing instead. But when I’m out there shooting I get so lost in the moment that nothing else matters. The forecast looks pretty good for tomorrow morning …. maybe a touch warmer and a lot less wind? But right now tomorrow seems so far away!

 

 

These are two of my favorite small barns. I pass them every week on my way to herding. The red barn got repainted this summer, which really makes it stand out as the surroundings begin to change. I actually prefer barns that are in their natural state and not painted, but something about the scene below grabbed my eye. Perhaps it was the tall wheat-colored grass against the green and red that pulled me in?

 

 

 

 


3 responses

  1. becca

    I can relate–I feel like I’m becoming a light chaser as well…

    October 16, 2010 at 8:10 AM

  2. I can also relate. I’m always looking for “good light”. And there are fun things and challenges to shooting in all seasons. Makes every time out an adventure! 🙂

    October 16, 2010 at 8:25 AM

  3. h

    Perhaps as the weather gets worse you can learn to appreciate the light in the middle of the day? haha!!

    October 16, 2010 at 11:59 AM

Leave a Reply

