Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Honey, I Shrunk The Pasta!

OK, this is my first ‘official’ blog rant. A few days ago I was getting ready to make dinner, which meant that I had to unload half a shelf of canned goods to find the ones I wanted. That’s probably typical for anyone who lives in a starter ranch that predates the 60’s, but that’s not my rant.

As I went through a list of things for my recipe, I realized I’d automatically grabbed doubles of almost every ingredient. Why? Because every product has decreased in size and weight so significantly that I can’t make a simple recipe without doubling most of the ingredients.

Ahem! Did the food industry think we wouldn’t notice that a “pound” of coffee is now 5 ounces short of a pound, or that a can of soup has shrunk so much that any recipe that used to call for one can of soup will probably need two? And most of the casseroles that I used to make with one box of pasta now need (at least) half a second box, if not more. It’s either suck up and use a second box of pasta or you can forget about having any leftovers. Why?  Because that  ‘pound of pasta’  now weighs only 13 ounces. And don’t get me started on tuna. I can’t even make two regular sized sandwiches with a single can of Tuna anymore.

You wouldn’t think this would be such a big deal. After all, how hard is it to add a little more pasta to the pot or open a second can of soup to make a dish the right consistency? That’s not what bothers me. Much. What truly gets my goat is that while the size and weight of these goods have been shrinking, the COST has been rising. Significantly. So now, not only do you get 1/3 less coffee in that cheesy little plastic container, you pay MORE  …. for LESS. It’s like getting screwed …. twice!

Yes, I’m sure none of this is new news to most, but it bugs me that the incredible shrinking proportion has hit everything from Quaker Oatmeal to Dannon yogurt. In fact, I refused to purchase Dannon products after they shrunk their containers down to the size of a kiddie snack pack. What’s next? Downsized toilet paper? I can see it now; smaller squares and less squares per roll. Great! Talk about not being able to “spare a square!”

But then there’s the biggest ripoff of all: Commercial Pet Food.

Try comparison shopping for a bag of dog kibble. Some bags are 33 pounds, some are 42, some are 38 and a multitude of various weights in between … and that’s just the mid-size range. For smaller sizes you might have one bag that’s 11 pounds, one that’s 14 and another that’s 16.8 pounds, and so on. Forget price comparisons …. the prices are all over the place! You might see a 38-pound bag  marked $42, or $39 for 33 pounds. What ever happened to the standard 25, 50 or 40-pound bag of dog food? All this nonsense drives me a little batty. I hate feeling like I’m getting rooked every time I shop. The packaging  keeps getting louder and the marketing more competitive, but we’re getting far less for our money.

OK, I’ll get off my soapbox now. I sound like Andy Rooney …..

6 responses

  1. Leanne

    Amen to the dog food rant! We have to deal with it daily, and its so difficult scripting out a prescription dog food when the price keeps changing. The food companies went schitzy after the contamination scare and gas price increase, and downsized the bag size to economize, jacked up the price, and never changed it when things normalized. Sigh. Maybe its time to start making my own dog food and distributing it? 🙂

    October 14, 2010 at 11:00 AM

    • Promise me if you start making your own, you’ll package it in ‘standard’ size bags!!!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      October 15, 2010 at 6:13 AM

  2. h

    Amen sista!

    October 14, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    • We gripe about this all the time but it makes me crazy!

      October 15, 2010 at 6:14 AM

  3. ROGER JOHNSON

    ANDREA ROONEY ?? BUT ITS ALL TRUE .. CORPORATE GREED IS SCREWING THE PUBLIC IN EVERY ASPECT .OF LIFE . ie INSURANCES WITH PRE EXISTING CLAUSES .. NOW GAS IS UP .30 SINCE B P . MALFUNCTION .. NOW WE ARE RE-EMBURSING THE OIL INDUSTRY AGAIN .. AND WHAT ABOUT RECORD BONUSES MORE THAN LAST YEAR ON WALL STREET 2 YEARS SINCE THE BAIL OUTS SHOULD”NT THE BONUSES BE GOING BACK TO THE PEOPLE WHOM BAILED EM ie YOU AND ME … AND THE LIST JUST KEEPS GROWING .. MY THOUGHT THROW OUT ALL INCUMBANTS AND STOP USING BANKS HAVE A GREAT DAY R

    October 14, 2010 at 6:21 PM

    • Yup! It never ends! But I think if Campbell’s would just go back to their former size can, the world would be a better place. 😉

      Thanks for reading!

      October 15, 2010 at 6:18 AM

Leave a Reply

