Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Unexpected

The Ed Heaton seminar included several hours of shooting on and around the Airline Trail. Being the recluse that I am, I quickly split away from the group and went off in a direction that I knew would offer some good opportunities. But I never made it to the destination I had in mind because as I was walking I heard the faint sound of running water. I quickly veered off the trail and followed an old rock wall down a short, steep embankment, where I encountered the perfect spot to shoot. I took several shots of the stream and a few shots of a couple of other interesting things, then decided it was time to retrace my steps. On the way up the embankment I spied this drainage tunnel, which would have been impossible to see on the trek down to the creek. I love surprise discoveries! You can see how close to the trail the tunnel is, yet there’s nothing that would indicate to anyone above that it’s there. I took two quick shots then continued on my way, all the while thinking that it’s probably a rare person who even knows the tunnel is there.

6 responses

  1. ROGER JOHNSON

    nice pic and a great piece of history

    October 5, 2010 at 7:36 AM

    • I was very surprised to look up and see this tunnel! I think it was meant to be discovered … I could have chosen any number of paths back up to the trail, but I picked one that led me straight to this! I think that’s asking to be shot!

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

      October 5, 2010 at 10:25 AM

  2. Interesting shot, and a wee bit scary looking as well. I love capturing the unexpected – nice photograph!

    October 5, 2010 at 8:25 AM

    • There was most definitely a bit of a creep factor going on there! It was a dark and dreary day and there wasn’t a sole around. Usually, I’d go over and have a look inside, but for some reason I didn’t. I should go back and try to “find” it again some day. I’d love to shoot it when a spring thaw is gushing from it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog!

      October 5, 2010 at 10:30 AM

  3. cheryl

    Who knows what lurks in the darkness of the scary tunnel….creepy, crawlies for sure!

    October 5, 2010 at 7:24 PM

    • Right! You can bet Hazer would stuff himself in there in a heartbeat! I’m so NOT going in after him, either! 😉

      Thanks for dropping by!

      October 6, 2010 at 6:50 AM

Leave a Reply

