Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Wicked (good) Webs

Perhaps I’m being redundant, but last week I awoke to find I had perfect conditions for shooting spider webs: heavy dew and filtered morning sunlight. I was nearly late for a herding lesson because there were so many great webs to shoot!

There were webs all over my flower gardens,

(Please click each picture to enlarge!)

webs in both butterfly bushes,

webs all along the fence line,

Webs that went a little haywire,

Webs spun by spiders with ADD,

webs in the junipers,

webs that scaled the 6 foot hibiscus plant,

and webs suspended in dangling tree limbs!

Not a bad show for a few minutes work and a quick walk around the back yard! Imagine what I could have captured if I’d had the time to hike the entire property? Next time!

6 responses

  1. These are really cool, especially the ADD web! I’m amazed at how many you found. Keep shooting!

    September 20, 2010 at 2:43 PM

    • Thanks Van! I just had one of those perfect mornings and even though I didn’t have much time, I was very pleased with what I got! I saw a few webs this morning …. why always on herding day? Oh well, I’m sure there will be better opportunities somewhere down the line. Thanks for dropping by!

      September 21, 2010 at 7:28 AM

  2. Beautiful spider webs….one of my favorite subjects, perhaps because they are so difficult to “catch” on camera. Nice job.

    September 21, 2010 at 2:24 PM

    • For all the work it must take to build them, I guess I never realized how short-lived a web can be. Furthermore, our window of opportunity to see them is even smaller. The higher the sun got the more the mist faded, making some of the webs “vanish” right before my eyes! It was pretty exciting to see so many at one time and I was literally running around my back yard like a kid in a candy shop! Glad you enjoy them too!

      September 22, 2010 at 8:27 AM

  3. The way webs appear (and disappear) like that…it’s as if we’re peering into another dimension. Very exciting stuff.

    September 22, 2010 at 9:29 AM

    • That’s exactly how it felt! At times I had everything I could do just to find a web that had been visible just five minutes prior. Move just slightly and “poof” it was gone! It sure made me appreciate how fast you have to work when you’re trying to capture certain nature shots … which is a challenge when you’re new to all this!

      September 23, 2010 at 12:02 PM

Leave a Reply

