Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Backyard Bureaucrats

This little chippy is from an army of  hundreds who show up on a daily basis to tell me what I ought to be doing around my property. Next to the Blue jay, they’re one of the bossiest bunch of critters in the woods. They’re cute as a button, but they chitter relentlessly at the dogs and me as we go about our daily routine.

I used to have a wonderful barn cat who kept the local chipmunk population trimmed down to a dull roar. But I lost Mac to old age a while back, and I’ve been over-run by the little varmints ever since. I keep hoping a stray cat will show up and decide to call this home, but so far that hasn’t happened. The minute I go out and adopt a cat another one will appear, so I’ve been holding off.

For now I guess I’ll just have to put up with the little chatter boxes!

4 responses

  1. Michelle

    We have those little critters, too. But Rommel keeps them down to a whispher. He could be dead asleep in the spare bedroom, but one little squeak; he is up and out of the house chasing them down. I think they just like to tease him, because he never seems to catch them.

    September 16, 2010 at 2:38 PM

    • The little varmints drive my Neena bonkers! She’s worn paths through the woods chasing them and has come very close to catching a few. I do think they tease the dogs on purpose, but they were no match for my old cat. He stayed fat dining on them. I just can’t believe how overrun we are now! Poor Rommel and Neena! They never give up! Thanks for stopping by!

      September 16, 2010 at 8:02 PM

  2. Michelle

    Since I have found out you have a blog. I check it every day to see what is new. I love the photos and the articles. Keep up the great work. It really amkes my day.

    September 17, 2010 at 8:37 AM

    • Thanks Michelle, that means a lot! I know some people check my blog every day, but I have no idea who reads it unless they leave a note every now and then. It’s kind of like putting a message in a bottle, then throwing it out to sea … you hope somebody finds it, but you’re never quite sure. So I’m glad to hear you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

      September 17, 2010 at 9:36 AM

Leave a Reply

