Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Transitions

My garden is starting to wind down. This is a picture of a lovely, late blooming rose that has vivid color and spicy fragrance. I bought this rose last fall, but it’s a vigorous climber and I’ve yet to find the perfect spot for it on my property. That dumb move was prompted by it’s stunning beauty and heady scent. Having failed to stop and think about where it was going to fit into the greater scheme of things,  I’ve planted it in a huge pot where I’m keeping it trimmed down until I’ve got the right place to unleash it. I’ve learned that it’s important to think down the line with climbers. If you don’t, you could find yourself in one heck of a jam a few years later. Better to be cautious now than left trying to figure out what to do with a prickly, overgrown,  tangled mess later.

I know a lot of people look forward to planting mums in the fall, but it’s been my experience that even the most hardy mums seldom survive the winter to re-bloom the next fall. Rather than just stick them in the ground and hope for the best, I’ve learned to follow the suggested protocol for wintering mums over and caring for them during the summer. Consequently, I’ve managed to hang on to four large bunches of mums that have bloomed quite well for several years. It’s amazing what a little TLC will do! But this year my mums are looking pretty tired and it may be their last hurrah. Last fall the majority of their flowers were tiny, so I should probably plan to buy a few new plants and replace the ones that are on their way out.

One response

  1. h

    Such a pretty color, wish I could smell them!….. my roses do not like the last move I did to them and are taking thier time to recoup….I think the soil needs some help… but then so does all of my gardens (need help) it would be nice if I actually took some time for them….I do more in this weather than I will in the heat…not a big summer person!

    August 20, 2010 at 7:07 AM

Leave a Reply

